A summary of selected relevant GLUK past projects and activities
Employer Contact person Nature of Service Contract value Completion Date
2018 and Continuing
FAWE K
Prof Thomas Rewe
Consultancy: A Study on Innovative Practices that Promote Girls’ Retention and Transition to Secondary and Higher Learning Institutions in Sub–Saharan Africa
USD 7000
June 2023
USAID: Western Kenya Sanitation Project
Dr. Careena Otieno
Research Learning Partner: Kowledge translation and creating communities of practice for Sanitation and Menstrual Health Management.
Ksh 8M staggered over 3 years
2025
SNV - REALMS
Prof Thomas Rewe
Research Partner: REGENERATIVE AGRICULTURAL PRACTICES FOR IMPROVED LIVELIHOODS AND MARKETS (REALMS): Creating conditions for successful adoption in Western Kenya and Western Rwanda
KSH 9478850
2024
European Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP)
Gideon Kikuvi kikuvi@jkuat.ac.ke
Strengthening capacity for epidemics preparedness and response in sub-saharan Africa (Partner institution)
EURO 741851.25
01.09.2024
WHO
Dr. Shannon Barkley
Capacity building course for Senior health managers on PHC
USD 30,000
March 2022
Global network for academic public health
Dorothy Biberman globalnetwork@aspph.org.
TIPH Global campaigns that increase the visibility of public health in a region outside of the United States.
USD 5000
01.02.2022
SIMAVI
Marlijn Lelieveld / Dorine Thomissen/Rens Saat Marlijn.Lelieveld@simavi.nl / Dorine.Thomissen@simavi.nl / Rens.Saat@simavi.nl
Increasing accessibility to SRH services by young people - program in 5 counties, Western Kenya Region
EURO 500,000
2016-2020
UNICEF / HERA
Deville Leo Loe.Devill@hera.eu
Programme evaluation MNCH, Kenya
USD 357,000
31.12.2018
Catholic Relief Services (CRS)
Lane Bunkers (Country Representative) / George Okoth (George.Okoth@crs.org)
Operational Research Consultant: Incorporating Maternal Mental Well-being into an Early Child Developmental Program: Pilot Research using a Mixed-Methods Quasi-Experimental Design - Homa Bay County
USD 167,892
30.04.2018
Year 2017
DFID
Eillen Chappell Eillen.Chappell@ishtm.ac.uk
Water, Sanitation and Nutrition
USD 300,000
31.12.2017
WHO
O'CONNELL, Thomas Stephen (oconnellt@who.int); SHAH, Archana Narendra (shaha@who.int);
WHO Country Health System Desk Review: 10 country report - for the WHO contribution to the WHO-WB-GoJ Background Report on “Making Progress towards UHC: Learning from Country Experiences” Presentation at the Tokyo UHC Forum 2017, Dec. 13-14, 2017 Background Paper (Assignment with Prof Margaret Kaseje and Dr. Charles Wafula)
USD 40,000
31.10.2017
Year 2016
WHO / HERA
Deville Leo Loe.Devill@hera.eu
UHC evaluation of Ouagadougou and Algiers Declarations
USD 155,000
31.12.2016
3ie
Avantika Bagai abagai@3ieimpact.org
Community engagement through the Community Health strategy for the improvement of immunization coverage in Pastoral and nomadic communities in Kenya. Intervention research
USD 200,000
01.12.2018
CHAK
Dr. Samuel Mwenda secretariat@chak.or.ke
CHAK Strategic Plan 2011-2016 and Three Year Program End Term Evaluation
USD 16,000
31.12.2016
WHO
Martin Ekeke ekekemononom@who.int
Development of Training Modules on Health Systems Strengthening, Africa Region
USD 25,000
29-12-2016
WHO
Elizabeth Hoff hoffe@who.int
Rapid Assessment and Health Systems Strengthening, Syria
USD 30,000
15-12-2016
IFRC
Yusuf Ibrahim yusuf.ibrahim@ifrc.org
Program Evaluation, Sudan
USD 20,000
31-11-2016
YEAR 2015
SIMAVI
Marlijn Lelieveld / Dorine Thomissen
Integration of young people in the DHS for improvement of reproductive health of young people.
EURO 870,000
2013-2015
IFRC
Kwame Darko kwame,darko@ifrc.org
Program Evaluation, Somalia
USD 20,000
31-10-2015
YEAR 2014
CNHR
Prof. Gilbert Kokwaro
Establishment of the Centre of Research Excellence in Health System Strengthening
US$ 500,000.
2011-2014